Explore South Baltic - Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania

This time we go to Germany, to the Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania region. It comprises the westernmost part of the wider Pomerania region stretching in the south coast of the Baltic Sea divided between Germany and Poland. The districts of the lander part of the Interreg South Baltic programme are Nordwest-Mecklenburg, Rostock region and its city district, Vorpommern-Rügen, Vorpommern-Greifswald. Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania consists of a multitude of natural lanscape: 283 nature reserves, 110 landscape reserves, 3 out of the 14 Germany national parks, and countless lakes that earned it the name of "land of a thousand lakes" (in German: Land der tausend Seen). The region is home of two of the oldest universities in Europe – University of Rostock and University of Greifswald.

By the way, the University of Rostock has been the lead partner of the CATCH project aimed at increasing the capability of coastal communities to establish cross-border sustainable angling tourism between partners from Germany, Denmark, Poland and Lithuania. The idea came from a growing of the sales of coastal tourist fishing licenses in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, which showed the potential spillovers that this element can bring to the development of local tourism in the broader South Baltic region.

CATCH project website

Dedicate page on our website


fishing sea